Skip to content

Restaurant Reviews

Coffee Worship

Coffee Worship


Tell us what you think! What is your favorite? Newest? Best?

82 Comments leave one →
  1. December 29, 2009 5:58 pm

    We ate at Fina Taqueria last night. They were just about to close but still helped us out.

    We got the Enchilada casserole that is supposed to feed 4 people. They were not kidding! They quality was what your would expect from the West Bros.

    For a neighborhood fast food Mex place, it definitely is a winner.

    Fina Taqueria on Urbanspoon

    • March 3, 2010 6:18 pm

      I have always wanted to try that place. But I once read they were going to close it down and convert it to some other Westraunt-owned outlet. I think they later changed their mind about this though. I will give it a shot in the next few days. (The low score on UrbanSpoon is not filling me with confidence, but gotta take a risk once in a while, right?).

  2. Sheila permalink
    January 6, 2010 1:31 am

    FYI- it is spelled “restaurant” not “resturant.” :)

  3. January 6, 2010 5:01 pm

    Thanks Sheila, this is why we need editors and contributors!

  4. January 8, 2010 10:12 pm

    I am a big BIG fan of Rabbit. Chef Gabriel is in there cooking every night and the seasonal menu is consistently amazing. He does incredible things with seafood and creates the most obscene mouth watering sauces.
    Plus, they have brunch on the weekends
    And, ever changing yummy cocktails too….

  5. January 27, 2010 10:05 pm

    Sushi Domo!

    We always try other sushi bars, new and old, but keep coming back for the consistent quality and art.

    Sushi Domo on Urbanspoon

  6. January 27, 2010 11:30 pm

    We tried the new Mio Sushi at Oakway Mall. Nice modern decor, but not very traditional, more like a trendy, fast food atmosphere.

    The menu and sushi offerings were not very creative, but the “happy hour” menu is in the right price range.

    Calamari $3.95 Pork Shabu Shabu $4.95 Albacore Tuna Tataki $5.95
    Happy Sushi Combo $5.95 Happy Sushi & Roll Combo $5.95 Happy Roll Combo $5.95 Chicken Yakitory $4.95 Steak Salad $5.95
    *Weekdays 4-6 pm One minimum beverage purchase required ($1.95 and up)

    Mio Sushi on Urbanspoon

  7. January 29, 2010 8:41 pm

    If you haven’t eaten at Noli’s yet, it it worth braving the food court atmosphere for great Italian food. His sauces and salad dressing are excellent!

    http://chow.eugeneweekly.com/chow/new-neighbor-new-flavor

    Noli's on Urbanspoon

    • March 3, 2010 6:16 pm

      Yeah, Noli’s is great! Exactly what I want in Italian food. Simple and focused on good flavor rather than expensive showy dishes. True, the food court atmosphere spoils it a bit, but if you can grab one of the booths along the side, you can sorta pretend you are in a real restaurant!

  8. February 2, 2010 12:17 am

    Off The Waffle has moved!

    The new location is at:

    2540 Willamette St. Eugene, OR 97405

    Bummer for the Whitaker Neighborhood.

    But the waffles are still the greatest.

    Off The Waffle on Urbanspoon

    • March 3, 2010 6:21 pm

      I’m gonna say, avoid the fancy waffles with cheese and monkey brain and whatever…they’re smallish and over-priced for a place with such grungy decor…plus the taste is only so so. On the other hand, two of the standard waffles with syrup will only cost you $5.50 and you will definitely be filled up. Still have to live with the grunge, but at $5.50 for a large meal, you will have lost your right to complain. ;-)

  9. February 3, 2010 9:43 pm

    Great article by Culinaria Eugenius (culinariaeugenius .wordpress.com) on Confits and local restaurant, Belly.

    Anything cooked in Duck fat or lard will be delicious!

    http://www.registerguard.com/csp/cms/sites/web/living/food/24398946-41/confit-fat-duck-meat-legs.csp

    Belly on Urbanspoon

  10. Tracy Rogan permalink
    February 6, 2010 4:08 pm

    I went to Monroe St Cafe on Thursday. I had a fantastic veggie sandwich and great beer. I paid $7.50 for the sandwich and it was gorgeous! Cucumber, smoked gouda, pepercinnis, and great mayo and mustard. Fantastic! They also have THE BEST sweet potato fries I have had in Eugene. Make sure you get the large fry though, they are only a dollar more (4.50) and you get twice as many fries. The half order is really only good for one person.

    Tracy Rogan via EugeneFoodies.com

    Monroe Street Cafe on Urbanspoon

  11. February 23, 2010 6:15 pm

    It is a shame all the Bene Pizza restaurants have closed. That darn economy! They were one of the best in Eugene.

    Bene Gourmet Pizza on Urbanspoon

    • Shelley permalink
      February 25, 2010 7:45 pm

      I agree! I was really bummed to hear about this. Now I’d say that Mezza Luna is the best option for pizza…but they don’t have a full bar like Bene did! :(

      • March 3, 2010 6:22 pm

        La Perla also has great thin crust pizza. The lunch specials are really reasonable priced also.

  12. February 24, 2010 4:50 pm

    We had a great Eugene Foodie night at Ambrosia. Many thanks to Matt and Jeff from Oakshire Brewing and Chef Lindsey of Ambrosia for a fun and ultimately delicious night of beer and fine food. Every course was well planned and executed.

    And we went away with only one thought: “Wow are we stuffed and satisfied!”

    Ambrosia Restaurant & Bar on Urbanspoon

  13. March 12, 2010 6:34 pm

    It used to be we could go to any of the McMeniman’s in Eugene and get great pub food, beer and service. Maybe it’s just me but I think they have really gone down hill.

    There was a time we would order a large fries for the table, and they would be hot and crispy.

    Not anymore…wimpy and soggy and greasy. Well at least the beer is still good if uninspiring.

    McMeniman's East 19th Street Cafe on Urbanspoon

    • April 4, 2010 7:28 am

      Try the McMenamins on High Street. It’s really small, so sometimes it’s tough to get a table. But the service and food are both quite good. I have never been to the 19th st version, but the High street McMenamins is much better than the McMenamins near Alton Baker Park. I went to that one once and never went back again. But since recently “discovering” the High street outlet, I have been there 3 times in 3 weeks.

  14. March 14, 2010 8:08 pm

    We feel like a traitors.We have always been Sushi Domo regulars. But we always have tried something new as we like to be sushi adventurers. Well it has finally happened. WE have now gone twice to Pure at the 5th st Public Market. We were intrigued the first time and there was enough of an interest to bring us back again. If you are into nigiri, theirs is as good as other sushi bars, fresh fish, albeit small pieces. It is the uniqueness of the rolls that got our attention. The 5 Star, a take on the rainbow roll was enhanced by the two different sauces that came with it. The Ninja, with its white tuna and peanut sauce is differently yummy. And the Volcano Bites are pleasantly different.

    We sit at the bar, so we don’t feel like we are cheating on SD, but who knows we may hit the sushi bar next time.

    Pure on Urbanspoon

  15. March 14, 2010 8:17 pm

    The Boulevard has changed. We used to love the happy hour there with ribs and tri-tip tacos at a nice discount. We even did a Eugene Foodies flash mob there, but to our dismay, the new owner/chef changed the menu to more mainstream pub fair and said the old menu items were not profitable. We understand the economics of a restaurant but these were the calling cards that enticed us to come more than once.

    Changing over to Mexican themed items that are a dime a dozen in Eugene does not seem to us a way to draw more people to try out your establishment, not with the competition the way it is. Or maybe he is just positioning his menu for when the waves of basketball fans descend in waves before and after the game.

    Boulevard Grill on Urbanspoon

  16. March 14, 2010 8:29 pm

    Burger Lovers! Are they really? Best Burger in Oregon? You got to be kidding me.

    I do feel kinda sorry for them, they picked a location that does not lend itself to a restaurant. It is not really a neighborhood kind of place and as you zip by on 7th, do you really want to stop and see if their claim holds up?

    I found that I found I was kinda curious so Mrs. Foodie and I stopped to check it out. Mixing Korean food and burgers sounds like a good idea to maximize the expertise, but kinda feels like a dysfunctional theme in practice. Neither inspired the level of confidence that this was a business dedicated to doing the best of a niche.

    And we think we were right in our assessment. The burgers are not inspiring at all, strictly mom and pop food service types with no eclectic, adventurous versions. Yes they may be fresh and never frozen, but so what.

    Organic, local, hand formed, etc, etc, is what we expect from someone claiming Oregon’s best burger. Just an opinion from a couple of burger lovers.

    Burger Lovers on Urbanspoon

    • March 14, 2010 9:13 pm

      You make a good point about their location. They get huge amounts of visibility from traffic on that street, but it’s not really a place you would want to stop and eat. On my website, they are almost always the highest ranking review in terms of number of searches on Google that led to my site, i.e. they are getting lots of interest from drivers-by. But I doubt if this is leading to much actual business for them.

      • Don Hoskins permalink
        January 10, 2014 6:48 am

        You can get a good burger at lots of places, however if you want GOOD Korean food go there. The Pork Bulgogi is amazing… And the owners are wonderful people

  17. April 1, 2010 7:32 pm

    Cafe 440

    We usually don’t expect much from strip mall restaurants even upscale strip mall restaurants. We found that the drinks here were good and creative, the appetizers were different especially the Poppers. The food menu was not that inspiring, but the Sunday Brunch looked intriguing and we will come back to try it.

    Cafe 440 on Urbanspoon

  18. April 5, 2010 6:00 pm

    Well if you read Goodfoodordie’s review on Urban Spoon you might never try this restaurant.

    And he makes some valid points.

    1. They still have the 3Square chairs. (Yes, in this business climate, when you take over or save a space from going under, you work on slim margins and they are nice chairs. We did notice also.)

    2. An open-air kitchen would be a nice touch if you couldn’t hear the two (sometimes three) chefs talking and saying the servers’ name when the order is called. It would also be nice if the chefs actually looked clean. (3 Square had the same problem as all open kitchens have.)

    6. The menu boasts enticing words like “fresh-made” and “organic,” but the ravioli that we shared was obviously once frozen. (We, being a blog supporting local, sustainable wish anyone using this to advertise would actually list ALL the ingredients if they want to be credible. Evene though they might have been frozen, we loved the raviolli.)

    10. For four people who each had an entree, shared two appetizers and got one fancy drink each, the bill was extremely high for what it was, overcooked and unattractive to look at and eat.
    (In Walid “Willie” Saleeby’s defense, he has run some of the finest restaurants in Eugene for over 20 years and when we ate there he was managing himself, and I am sure if Goodfoodordie had complained, it would have been taken seriously.)

    Change of Heart Bistro on Urbanspoon

  19. April 13, 2010 8:28 pm

    Hop Valley Brewing Company

    Many restaurants have tried to make it in this location, but the newest incarnation to fill this spot may just be here a while.

    First and foremost a brew pub needs good beer and they definitely have succeeded.

    I especially like the vanilla porter but the other selections seem well made and unique. Curiously they do not have a stout?

    And as far as food goes, it is average to above average pub fair with enough variety on the menu to allow not getting bored with return visits.

    I personally enjoyed the garlic burger with Gouda cheese.

    HopValley Brewing on Urbanspoon

  20. April 16, 2010 9:40 pm

    After eating pizza in Italy for a week, I went to LaPerla to see if it was up to the Italian standards. I even brought two Italian friends visiting from Verona with me to verify.

    They agree this is Neapolitan pizza at its finest. Bon Appetite!

    La Perla Pizzaria on Urbanspoon

  21. May 17, 2010 9:24 pm

    Had a great lunch! Blackened Tipalpia with fries for $4.99. Mrs. EugeneFoodie had the Salmon burger for the same price.

    Fishermans Market/Full Boat Fish & Chips on Urbanspoon

  22. June 25, 2010 8:48 pm

    Though Steelhead brewery has been around for along time and yes it’s pub food does not stand out as “gourmet”, it’s beers have stood the test of time. Super deal on Tuesday. Pizza and a beer for $8.95.
    Try the Dublin Stout.

    Steelhead Brewing Co. on Urbanspoon

  23. July 25, 2010 6:43 pm

    Studio One is on our list for good breakfast joints in Eugene. The coffee is strong, the atmosphere is good and the menu offers and portions are better than the norm.

    Eugene does not have any truly standout breakfast places. Keystone for the hardcore hippies, and both Glenwoods, are the only other comparable places and both have been here forever.

    I had an excellent crab and poached egg with hollandaise, but lots of the other menu items caught my eye.

    Studio One Cafe on Urbanspoon

  24. July 25, 2010 6:53 pm

    Divine is a perfect way to describe these cupcakes. Available in petite sizes which make for a decadent but not overwhelming treat, the experience is perfect for a sweet bite.

    At the Bite of Eugene, I had a chocolate peanut butter and Mrs. Foodie had the lavender cupcake.

    The Divine Cupcake on Urbanspoon

  25. September 17, 2010 8:24 pm

    Hey there Philly expats, cheesesteaks as good as the motherland are here in Eugene.
    Hoagies-R-Us is doing it well in the style of Pat’s Steaks (chopped meat).

    And the rolls are as close to authentic as you can get on the west coast.

    It may be a drive for some, but worth it if your craving a cheesesteak or a good hoagie.

    Hoagies-R-Us on Urbanspoon

  26. October 15, 2010 9:15 pm

    Wanting a good fast food hamburger that is a step above fast food?

    Dickie Jo’s is the place. Made with local sustainable beef this up and coming soon to be a franchise is doing a good job.

    Dickie Jo's Burgers on Urbanspoon

  27. October 15, 2010 9:18 pm

    Dog in Box, or old auto repair shop. Doesn’t matter where you get a good dog, sausage, kielbasa, etc.

    Quality through out!

    Dog in a Box on Urbanspoon

  28. October 15, 2010 9:26 pm

    The only problem with the Bier Stein is trying to get a seat! The second problem is making a decision! Too many choices and not enough time

    The Bier Stein on Urbanspoon

  29. October 15, 2010 9:30 pm

    This has become the “hippie” place especially in the summer when they have outside music.
    Food is good but basic like organic should be.

    World Cafe on Urbanspoon

  30. October 15, 2010 9:34 pm

    A simple menu but good beers in a down to earth atmosphere make for a true “Whiteaker” experience.

    Try music at night or the back yard in the summer.

    Sam Bonds on Urbanspoon

  31. October 26, 2010 10:02 pm

    Well, summers over and the back yard at Cafe Soriah is cold and wet. Luckily it is warm and cosy inside. They have started a new happy hour which is fun and of course this is still the best place for a flambe dessert at your table by Ib Cafe Soriah on Urbanspoon

  32. November 6, 2010 10:02 pm

    My first time going to the Granary since it was the old Jo Feds.
    I highly recommend the down stairs with its rathskeller feel and huge wood beams (watch your head tall folks!)

    The service is good even when they are slammed. You may even see part owner Josh Keim busing tables. Impressive, considering he owns other great places.

    And don’t forget to congratulate Don Mike on being one of the best (Eugene Weekly 2010) bartenders in town. Try his unique Bloody Mary. Ask him what his 2 secret ingredients are, he may tell you, or just spy on him. You’ll be surprised.

    Even though I am not a vegan, I enjoyed their Vegan Pie. The Diaya vegan cheese and dates made this a real hit.

    The Granary Pizza Company on Urbanspoon

  33. December 3, 2010 9:14 am

    what i can i say, pizza restaurants are really the best and they can really fill my belly ~;”

  34. January 6, 2011 7:47 pm

    A new addition to the pretty slim Italian restaurant scene is Osteria Sfizio in the Oakway Mall.
    They have sunk a lot of money into the old Oakway Deli spot. It is a nice upscale decor, though a little chilly the night we were there. Lot’s of interesting things on the menu. I was a little taken back by a $22 dish of pasta but was glad when I ordered the half portion and was served what to me would be a full portion. It will be interesting to see if Eugene will support upscale, trendy Italian.

    Osteria Sfizio on Urbanspoon

  35. April 23, 2011 2:24 am

    Opening a new sushi bar in Eugene is tough. Opening one that is downtown, right across from LCC DTC and next to the LTD terminal is even harder.

    But Kamitori seems to have pulled it off. Fresh ingredients, a different, more traditional treatment of the fish and a non-pretentious attitude make this restaurant a pleasure. Happy hour could be more extensive, but was cost effective.

    Don’t fear downtown, it’s getting even more hipper. Go and check them out. Let us know what you think.

    Kamitori Japanese Restaurant on Urbanspoon

  36. May 1, 2011 3:30 pm

    A new Thai place in Eugene? We have a plethora of good Thai, so why? Obviously the owners feel they can do it right. Good portions, reasonable prices, manageable menu in a nice winebar type setting is the appeal here.

    Upscale Oakway lends its ambiance to the location. Even though they have not advertised and have been open for only 3 months, they were well packed on a Saturday night. We had an enjoyable dinner.

    Sabai on Urbanspoon

  37. May 9, 2011 4:05 am

    Eugene does not have lots of Italian, but it seems like we have one example of each of the Italian restaurant types. Beppe & Gianni claim the trattoria spot.

    Wikipedia describes the trattoria as an Italian-style eating establishment, less formal than a ristorante, but more formal than an osteria. There are generally no printed menus, the service is casual, wine is sold by the decanter rather than the bottle, prices are low, and the emphasis is on a steady clientele rather than on haute cuisine. The food is modest but plentiful (mostly following regional and local recipes) and in some instances is even served family-style (i.e. at common tables).

    Having just had an overpriced meal, with questionable, confused service (our waitress would not tell us the desserts, but made us get up and look at the case), and hit and miss food, I wonder if Beppi & Gianni are living on their rep, and lack of competition instead of being the best trattoria, if the only trattoria in town.

    Beppe & Gianni's Trattoria on Urbanspoon

  38. May 16, 2011 9:49 pm

    A while ago we said we would add our review of the Sunday Brunch. Well it is not a true “all you can eat” buffet brunch, but for a breakfast menu it had a few interesting items. I enjoyed the Shrimp and Grits. It was pretty good for a non-southern joint. They do seem to be trying to be “sustainable and local” but of course like very other place in town, they still have a good way to go.

    Nice to see the pretty full, but casual breakfast crowd on Coburg Rd. Definitely a breakfast hang out joint. (bring the dog and sit outside!)

    Cafe 440 on Urbanspoon

  39. May 16, 2011 9:57 pm

    Chef Adam Bernstein’s Sustainable Table, and before that Adam’s Place has been a fixture for so many years providing Eugene with good food, martini’s and a nice atmosphere. But the party is over, so by the time you read this, it may be closed. The lease is up in September 2011 and Adam is retiring.

    Even if someone takes over, which is doubtful, it will never be the same. As one of the best chefs in town, Adam and his crew has constantly brought us fine delectables and good service for parties and family gatherings.

    Try to say goodbye and have one more martini before they are gone.

    Adam's Sustainable Table on Urbanspoon

  40. May 29, 2011 9:08 pm

    Hwy 99 and the whole Bethel/Barger neighborhood does not have a large selection of restaurants. And there were only 2 BBQ joints. One, the Oklahoma Smoke House was a food cart that put out some good meat, but they did not last.

    That leaves Porky’s Palace on the corner of 99 and Royal. This has always been a locals only bar and food place, but a few years ago they went to smoking their meat.

    Still has that local feel but portions are good, prices are right, and the atmosphere fits a BBQ venue. Check the brisket and pulled pork. They do it dry so you can decide on the sauce if you need it.

    Porky's Palace on Urbanspoon

  41. June 2, 2011 7:57 pm

    The Maize. Cornucopia’s latest adventure. Definitely more on the sports bar side of the business, with a smaller menu than their other 2 places, but if you are looking for fun, with a good selection of potatoes, this is the place. Pub food with a flair. Try the different potato cones or mix and match.

    Drinks were strong, and the atmosphere is geared to the “happy hour” crowd.

    Cornucopia Maize Lounge on Urbanspoon

  42. June 2, 2011 8:02 pm

    Agate Alley Laboratory was recommended on the Eugene foodies Facebook group. We went to check it out and hit it on their warm opening. Though they were in their shake down mode, things seem to run very smoothly with lots of exotic drink concoctions and a good selection of menu items that were out of the norm. Rumor has it they will be rotating the menu on a weekly basis, but if you get a chance the Oxtail Bruschetta, and the Crab Guacamole were excellent.

    Agate Alley's Laboratory on Urbanspoon

  43. July 17, 2011 4:38 pm

    If you want a truly Eugeneian experience, you have to try a vegan/vegetarian restaurant.
    There are many choices from the lowly tofu dog cart to the full blown eatery, but there is a new place in town.

    From their humble beginnings as a food cart/ book store to real mom&pop joint, Cornbread Cafe is serving up comfort food to warm a veg heads soul.

    P.S Meat lovers, you should try it, you may like it!

    Cornbread Cafe on Urbanspoon

  44. September 25, 2011 5:49 pm

    The Whiteaker neighborhood has gone gourmet! We had a wonderful dinner at Nib. The menu was creative and eclectic with good use of the local harvest. We were amazingly surprised at the Melon gazpacho with it’s sweet and spiciness. The figs, blue cheese and honey appetizer was simple but elegant. Our entree we shared was a rabbit paella. It was hearty and flavorful. We enjoyed the atmosphere and will surely return for another adventure. Nib A modern Eatery on Urbanspoon

  45. January 12, 2012 11:09 pm

    Remember the old “Wild Duck” on 6th. Good beer, good pub food, and a great concert venue? Well after all these years the are back, at least with pub food. The original owners have opened on Villiard st. No more WD microbrew, but a good selection of brews. No more concert venue, but a nice atmosphere, if a little on the loud side. They even have the old Lou & Ev’s sign form Hwy99.

    The food was a little hit and miss. We had apps, Blue cheese chips were good, calamari was standard. Cheese curds could have been a larger portion. One of our party had th etri-tip and it was a little on the tough side.

    Since they are just getting started, we’ll give them a try again. It was a nice place to hang out.

    Wild Duck Cafe on Urbanspoon

  46. January 15, 2012 8:45 pm

    As you know from our posts, we usually don’t do fine dining restaurants. We are more of the pubby, bistro types. But every once in a while we like to dress up. Usually that meant Adam’s Place or Cafe Soriah. We finally got around to Excelsior. Now they are smart and do have a bistro menu, but since it was my birthday, we went for the formal menu. We were well pleased, not only because of the local, sustainable commitment, but because of the quality and presentation of the food.

    I am impressed they have their own farm, and support lots of local organic providers.

    The atmosphere was more old farmhouse than 5 star, but hey , this is Eugene.

    Excelsior Inn on Urbanspoon

  47. February 9, 2012 12:20 am

    The Sky is falling! And soon the beer will be pouring! Eugene’s newest brewery is open and if the beer will be as good as the food, it will be a wonderful addition to our great craft brewing spots.

    We had the crab beignets, a little under done, but hey they are in shake down mode so I’ll cut thema little slack.

    The roasted pork belly and beans were real good. But the hamburger looked so awesome I wanted to steal it from our table neighbors.

    We wil be back to try more food, and of course the beers.

    They are advertising that they will be local, sustainable, and unique.

    Falling Sky Brewing Co. on Urbanspoon

  48. February 9, 2012 5:38 pm

    Hidden in West Eugene Monroe St. area is a new pizza pie shop. Local fresh ingredients, local beer and locals hangout. Check it out for a nice pizza, beer, and down to earth atmosphere. And for you gluten intolerants, they have what you need!

    Whirled Pies on Urbanspoon

  49. March 2, 2012 8:13 pm

    Opening a steak house on Hwy 99 is a real gamble. The area does not really support an upscale establishment and considering that this space has been used for a failed ice cream joint and of course many years as a Burrito Amigos, not doing an extensive remodel is a recipe for failure.

    Even with a quality product, the ambiance and service are not up to the level you would expect considering the prices.

    The House of Steak on Urbanspoon

  50. March 2, 2012 9:22 pm

    You can always tell a good ethnic restaurant if people of the same ethnicity as the food are the dominate patrons. So that can definitely be said for cafe Seoul hidden next to Subway near Hiron”s. Try the lunch specials! Great prices.

    Cafe Seoul on Urbanspoon

  51. March 3, 2012 2:58 am

    A new Thai takes on the establishment tweaking the model towards a Bistro bent. The Kao Pad Ga Prow Kai Dow (Spicy Thai fried rice with bell peppers, onions, and basil. Served with Thai eggs over easy) was good, medium spice for me was just right.

    The Crab Puffs were tasty, just not crab tasty.

    The Suki Bowl $12 (Thai-Japanese tradition made with chef’s combination choice of chicken, beef, pork and seafood, Asian veggies and glass noodles) was full of fishy goodness. Just beer and wine and a strip mall feel. I’d put curtains up to hide the parking lot, but watching Off the Waffle’s kitchen was fun. Made us crave dessert.

    Som Tum Thai Bistro on Urbanspoon

  52. March 17, 2012 4:22 pm

    Had a chance to stop into Rye, which has taken over the old Bridge space off of third street for a quick drink and app. The bartender was very knowledgeable about pre-prohibition cocktails and he was fun and friendly. I asked about the potted meats appetizer and unfortunately he was not as knowledgeable. He apologized since as an owner he should know this, but I’ll cut him some slack since they had only been open a few days.

    We will definitely try them again for dinner as the menu is small but eclectic and perked our curiosity.

    Rye on Urbanspoon

  53. March 19, 2012 8:07 pm

    Unfortunately we got to Our Daily Bread just as they were shutting down the Sunday Brunch and instituting the scaled down Sunday lunch menu. It was a major tease to see all that great looking food sitting there out of our reach. Even with the limited Sunday lunch menu, we still have some good choices. Both Kathy and I agreed that the burgers were good and used local beef (no pink slime!). We looked over the other menus and I would classify this as “GastroPub” type of food.

    We will definitely be back for Brunch and Dinner.

    Our Daily Bread Restaurant on Urbanspoon

  54. April 17, 2012 3:11 pm

    Tucked behind the convenience store across from the laundrimat is a secret gourmet dining experience. Though the over rating on Urbanspoon is only 63%, we had a wonderful meal there. Scallops Chinois, basiclally scallops with a hoisin sauce on rice, and Skirt steak were what we had but since the menu changes weekly, it could be why the ratings are a little low. The service was fine, the atmosphere rustic but comfortable, so the only thing I can think of is if you try it and like it, you may not the next week. But I would at least try it once.

    Chef's Kitchen on Urbanspoon

  55. May 26, 2012 8:57 pm

    Forget Roadhouse Grill, if you want a steakhouse that is real, try Rodeo. It may be a little (12 miles) drive, but it is worth it. We tried the fall off the bone ribs, the steak tips smothered with cheese and onions. It has a nice rustic atmosphere and a coleslaw that was amazingly unique.

    Rodeo Steak House & Grill on Urbanspoon

  56. September 1, 2012 4:07 am

    Well the Whit just got a little more eclectic with the addition of Mame. Small, funky and VERY Whiteaker. Sushi bar? Asian/Mex fusion? Who knows? Who cares? It’s fresh and fun and creative, and if it doesn’t suit you tonight, try again tomorrow as the menu will be different.

    Mame on Urbanspoon

  57. September 8, 2012 4:29 am

    After reading what other Eugene Foodies have said about Koho Bistro, we thought it was time for a visit. We started at the bar since we are essentially pub types, We were charmed and served by Cory. Cuban Stiletto, Red Nectar, Blue Geisha are some of the exotic drinks he’s shaking. Unsure whether we would do dinner, we opted for the Charcuterie Plate and the Scallops. Both were excellent, not cheap. Worth it? I’d say definitely yes on the quality of the in house made meats, but 4 scallops for $14, though delicious on top of wheat berry salad, I don’t know. Kathy chose the Grains, Beans and Things (more wheat berries) and my hanger steak was ultimately tender and the polenta tasted like polenta. The one big time drop the ball was our bread came out frozen in the middle so we returned it and never did get the promised replacement. All in all maybe a B for us.

    Koho Bistro on Urbanspoon

    • Hank permalink
      October 15, 2012 5:16 am

      I was a huge fan of the original Koho Bistro, which consistently served excellent food at reasonable prices, including the best seafood chowder on the planet, served by a friendly and very capable wait staff. (Yes, I still miss it.) Therefore I was excited to try the new Koho that opened under new ownership. Unfortunately, both times I have been underwhelmed. The new decor is nice and better integrates the dining room with the bar, which was an after-thought at the old Koho. The service is still friendly and prompt, and they have an excellent bartender who is almost as good as he thinks he is. The food is good, but nothing special, and the portions are small and overpriced. The “small plates” are actually tiny plates. The first time there I had a fish dish which was one of the nightly specials. It was good, but had been cooked with bacon, which the server neglected to mention. That didn’t matter to me but it might to some people. The second time I had the hanger steak. Again, it was good and well prepared, but not great. All in all, good food but not a great value. However, if you want to sit at the bar and be entertained by the bartender’s repartee for the evening, this may be the place for you.

  58. October 18, 2012 9:54 pm

    ‎”After a thoroughly enjoyable and dynamic performance by the Eugene Ballet and the Floydian Slips, we hoped to be just as wowed by our experience at the Humble Beagle; unfortunately, the Beagle did not live up to expectations.” We’ve heard lots of talk and newspaper articles about the Humble Beagle for a while so a bunch of us foodies decided to check it out. We had with us one of their “regular” customers. It was a Sunday around 6 and only one couple was waiting. After we ordered drinks and nachos to start, we waited and waited. The only other couple left and we could hear lots of talking form the kitchen, maybe 3 or 4 workers. Probably 15 minutes went by and our first drink came out. It was another 10 before the last drink came. The waitress apologized and said she was the bartender in training. Looks like she should have had back up/better training. The nachos we got were considered an A+, definitely toasty and cheesy, but curiously no jalapenos. The bathrooms were a disappointment as the men’s had no water and the woman’s no towels. It took another 25 minutes for our meals to arrive and this with no one in the place. Our “regular” who is a vegetarian ordered the vegiburger with gluten free bun which was inedible as it was hard as a rock. Microwaved too long? The flank steak was tough with a solid mas of cold garlic butter that did not melt, guess the steak wasn’t hot enough. The vege chili was good, but intense, the house salad was also good. The whole wheat pizza was like card board and the comment from the chooser was it was “a little like the bathrooms, something was definitely missing” I had the smoked meat plate (tuna, oysters, salmon)which had a good horseradish cream cheese and bread.

    All in all we feel this is a place that doen’t know if it want to be a bar or a eating area for a bagel shop. I would recommend the owner take out the 2 leather chairs (kinda elitist) and put in a real bar with 20 taps. That would better serve the neighborhood. BTW, Try the marion berry cider, it’s a hit.

    Humble Beagle on Urbanspoon

  59. April 20, 2013 4:21 pm

    We found a 50% off coupon for sushi and hey anytime you can get a discount on sushi is good. But we really had low expectations since who offers half price sushi? Well, weren’t we surprised when we found fresh, large pieces of nigiri and some adventurous rolls. Have you ever had Dungeness crab sushi? They have it! Give this strip mall joint a chance. We think you will like it. (even without a coupon!)

    Sushi Seoul on Urbanspoon

  60. June 1, 2013 3:51 pm

    So Belly Taqueria has the same problem Belly used to have. Too popular and too small. We were 6th on the list last night but we got lucky 2 spots opened at the bar. The flaming cheese, onions and house made chorizo was fun. The lenqua taco was melt in your mouth though the octopus was drowned in too much sauce, the same as the scallops taco. We really wanted try the chips and habanero-pepita dip but they were out and so we opted for the chips and guacamole which never came. A little hit and miss but we’ll go back just for the habanero-pepita dip.

    Belly Taqueria on Urbanspoon

  61. June 9, 2013 11:02 pm

    Finally got to Dalhia’s. Nice crowd for a Friday night. We had some hits and misses. Server forgot my salad and I had to ask, our pita was crispy on the outside instead of soft like our neighbors, though I have to say I kinda liked it. My lamb egg rolls (Sambosic) were overcooked, almost burnt and the server did not warn me that the, what looked like chutney was actually diced jalapenos…Hot! Kathy had the chicken Shwarma. We both liked the flavor of the food, the plate presentations looked great, and the atmosphere was cordial but vibrant.

    Dalia's on Urbanspoon

  62. August 28, 2013 6:15 pm

    Fine Dining on Broadway. We had a great experience, with attentive service, a truly gourmet menu and a eclectic atmosphere. I had the sea scallop with stuffed pig feet, baby bok choi, blackened banana, sweetbread and
    sauce hollandaise while Kathy had the pressed lamb shoulder with merguez, roasted fennel, sauce soubise and pickled
    onion. You can view the whole menu at: http://www.rabbitbistro.com/

    We were especially amazed that the Owner/Chef Gabriel Gil graciously let us use a gift certificate from the closed Rabbit Bistro. Just shows his commitment to customer service.

    Soubise on Urbanspoon

  63. September 9, 2013 12:16 pm

    Red Wagon Creamery and Party Downtown have both made the transition from mobile food to brick and mortar and are now sharing the same location. By next month hopefully we will have had a chance to eat at Party Downtown, though the menu looks interestingly eclectic. But we have been fans of Red Wagon Creamery’s ice cream for along time and having them downtown is a great addition to all the new offering available as we change form the old dead Broadway to the new vibrant Broadway. As I almost always do the Salted Caramel or the Wandering Goat coffee ice cream, I decided to try something entirely different. Corn with honey! And yes, it did taste like sweet corn. Kathy tried the Russian beet and she enjoyed the contrasting flavors. Let’s hope they can make it during the winter as we are not really an ice cream town…

    Red Wagon Creamery on Urbanspoon

  64. October 16, 2013 4:08 am

    So we motivated and walked past the fabulous Red Wagon ice cream to the back of the space where Party Downtown is located. This is another business incubated with humble beginnings as a food cart. When you get to the back, you’ll see the menu up on the wall. It changes everyday including Sunday when they do a brunch. Check their website as they do post. We were told to start at the top of the columns for the small bites going to the bottom with full entrees. Nothing was over $14 but the variety and eclecticism were definitely obvious that this was not a “normal” restaurant. We had an heirloom tomato salad with 3 kinds of tomatoes in perfect ripeness. It forced us to order bread because we did not want to waste all the juice. Next we had Deep Fried KimChee. I would have liked to see it in a tempura batter instead of the crunchier corn meal, but it still was a spicy treat. We also got the pancake which was very savory and matched well with the Duck Confit. Tough I am not a big fan of changing menus, I do thick I’ll save this one in my favorites and browse them to see what’s cooking!

    Party Downtown on Urbanspoon

  65. November 13, 2013 2:42 am

    Gourmet fine dining is back in the Whit. Since NIB left there has been a vacuum in the “new to the neighborhood” upscale dining experience. Looks like Grit has come to fill that void. From the extensive remodel of an old house with the finest of design and materials to the quality of the ingredients and attention to detail of Chef C. Ashley Hawkins, Grit brings back fine dining with a Whiteaker twist. The menu will change weekly but soon you’ll be able to check the website and plan ahead. But for now, stop in and give it a try. Either order ala cart, or the 4 course prix fixe menu. We had the prix fixe with the Duck Leg Confit. Excellent. Grit Kitchen and Wine 1080 W 3rd Ave. 541-343-0501 gritkitchen.com

    Grit Kitchen and Wine on Urbanspoon

  66. December 31, 2013 7:36 pm

    Maru Tapas is now open on Franklin where Mekela’s was, but you would never recognize the space. The extensive (and expensive) remodel has transformed the old run down restaurant into a light, bright modern ambiance which reflects the menu of Asian small plates with an emphasis on seafood . There are also entrees, bento boxes and sushi, but with 2 full pages of hot and cold small plates, it will take a few visits even to experience the base offerings. They also have some good cocktails.

    Maru Tapa on Urbanspoon

  67. January 11, 2014 5:46 pm

    It took a while to get this post up. But it is worth the wait. Nowhere in our area is a Chinese restaurant that comes up to the quality and uniqueness of Kung Fu Bistro. When I travel I look for places that have a lot of ethnic patrons that match the food. Even though this is a small strip mall joint you will see lots of Asian students so they must be doing something right. The menu contains many spicy, traditional Szechuan dishes. Quite different from your typical Americanized Chinese like Mar Far chicken or Mu Gu pork. http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Szechuan_cuisine

    Kung Fu Bistro on Urbanspoon

  68. January 30, 2014 5:36 pm

    A special thanks to Regie Sison-Valenti for her guest Filipino review:

    Had lunch at Maynila with 2 friends Tuesday. Service was pleasant but we had gotten there before the lunch hour and the pork belly took a bit to get to our table. The entrees are laid out in cafeteria style. Prices are reasonable and choices change daily. Pork belly (lechon kawali) was good. Soup – sinigang (tamarind soup) was pleasant and flavorful. The pork adobo was a bit dry but all Filipinos are highly critical of the national dish of the Philippines. All in all I would recommend this restaurant to Eugene Springfield foodies who may not have eaten Filipino food before.

    Maynila Filipino Cuisine on Urbanspoon

  69. February 17, 2014 12:14 am

    After having just been in the Middle East I thought I would check out our local fare. Willie Waleed has always been known for fine dining with a Middle Eastern twist and nothing has really changed with his latest iteration. Entrees run $18 to $28. We opted for the Mazza plate for $19 for two and it was totally satisfying especially the fried cauliflower. Though the restaurant is out of the way, there are few fine dining choices in Springfield. Mookies could not make it in this spot so we hope Willie has a better time here. Though a lot on the Mazza (appetizer) plate were basic, they were still of a consistent quality to match what I just had in Kuwait, which my colleague told me was the best restaurant in the old souk.

    Willie's Lebanese and NW Cuisine on Urbanspoon

  70. April 21, 2014 11:28 pm

    We had been trying to get into Carmelita Spats for a while. It is small and popular. It was worth the wait. The ambiance was intimate, the food was well done and well presented, each small plate bringing a new taste adventure, and the service was sterling. Just make sure you get a reservation!

    Carmelita Spats on Urbanspoon

  71. May 25, 2014 6:31 pm

    The Eugene Foodies group on Facebook has been raving about Chow for a while and we finally got around to check it out. Chow is in Springfield, Eugene’s sister city. For all you Simpson’s fans, yes, this is THE Springfield. Ironically Chow is attached to Moe’s pub where you can get Chow’s gastropub menu served to you. The Simpson’s Moe’s would never be so cool. I always wonder when a place calls themselves “gastropub” but in this case it works. The food is different than your normal pubby fare and we wanted to try everything. We had the Helfrich burger (1/2 lb burger made with local beef, brown sugar cured bacon, swiss, pepper jack,and pimento cheese, stuffed with crunchy chips) and the BLSDT (brown sugar cured bacon, arugula, iceberg lettuce, sun dried tomato pesto, piggy mayo). We also had the Parmesan tots that were great, but a little bummed they were out of the truffle oil and sea salt tots. Next time! Homer would be pleased and moaning…”bacon!”

    Chow on Urbanspoon

  72. August 13, 2014 4:29 pm

    The Eugene Foodies Facebook group is a great way to find out about new places. There were lots of posts about Toxic Wings especially about the name so We had to check it out. At first glance, the old Burrito Brothers space looks about the same until you actually walk up and realized they put a lot of time, effort and thought into the branding of their business. This was  a major revamp of this space and I love the edginess. Keep in mind this is still a whole in the wall space, but it is very cool. On the other hand the wings are not, depending on your sauce. They have a thermometer wall chart so you can gauge the heat of your sauce. I could only get to the third from the top. luckily I also got one way down the list  to help cool my mouth. I have to say the boneless wings which are baked with a great spiced coating were a little dry so next time I’ll try the bone in. My daughter liked her hamburger especially the embossed X on the bun. That’s attention to detail.

     

     

    10309022_10203078416535052_4062769050814650793_n

     

     

     

     

    Toxic Wings & Fries on Urbanspoon

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 44 other followers

%d bloggers like this: